City Council

Jacksboro’s Governing Structure

The City of Jacksboro is a Type A General Law city.

The Jacksboro City Council is comprised of a Mayor and five (5) Council members. All City Council places are 2 year terms being elected “at large” as each represent the entire community. The Mayor and Council are elected by the citizens of Jacksboro with the election being held the first Saturday in May.

The Jacksboro City Council is committed to a transparent, fair and just government with the intent of all decisions being made in the best interest of the overall Jacksboro citizenship.

The role of the City Council is to enact ordinances and resolutions, adopt regulations, and set policy direction for the conduct of the affairs of the city. Direction is given to the City Manager, the City Manager is then responsible for the routine administration and direction of the municipal organization.

To contact the City Council, please contact City Secretary Brenda Tarpley by calling (940) 567-6321.


    • 5:30 p.m.
    • Second and Fourth Monday of each month
    • Council Chambers in City Hall
      112 West Belknap
      Jacksboro, TX 76458
    • All meetings are held in public forum

The City Council, by majority vote, appoints the following staff members:
  • City Manager
  • City Secretary
  • Chief of Police
  • Fire Chief
  • City Attorney; and
  • Municipal Court Judge

The City Council, by majority vote, appoints citizens to board appointments for:
  • Planning and Zoning Commission
  • Board of Zoning Adjustments
  • Parks and Recreation Board

City Council Members

Mayor Alton Morris 2.jpg

Alton Morris, Mayor


Cade Cornish, Place One


Melanie Belcher, Place Two


Jeff Miller, Place Three


Councilman Joe Mitchell 2.jpg

Joe Mitchell, Place Four